top of page

You can't change your DNA

Another snippet of a larger story

 

The blazing heat of the summer sun has finally died down as we sit on the shore at dusk. What we thought was going to be a whirl-wind summer came crashing to a halt. Nights like these are the only time we can catch our breath, focusing on nothing but the emerging stars. Waves crash against the dock as we slowly breathe in and out. Neither one of us wanting to ruin this moment of solitude with words. I reach out to grab your hand and you quickly pull away. I guess that's to be expected after everything I've done. But if you hate me so much why do you still come here?

We sit in silence until I can't take it anymore. "I didn't force his hand you know. He made the decision all on his own.", I say. She continues to stare out at the water. "I've never known you to be so quiet", I say hoping to get something, anything out of her. Still silence.

She gets up and walks toward the water. I follow closely behind. As we dip our toes in the water she finally speaks. "Is this where it happened?", she asks without looking me in the eye. "That would be really morbid, even for me", I chuckle. She shoots a dirty look in my direction. It's the first time I've looked into her eyes in weeks. She looks exhausted and completely worn out. I want to reach out and hug her but I know better. She turns to me and ushers out the four words I've been dreading. "You couldn't stop him?", she says. I feel like I've been stabbed in the gut with a shard of ice. Did those words feel just as cold when they came out?

"You can't change your DNA", I say.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page