top of page

Time stands still for no one

Time stands still for no one.

I come to the same spot everyday. Our spot. The rope on the tree swing is barely hanging on a by a thread. You would have been twenty two now. I can only imagine what you'd look like. You were pretty tall back then I'm sure you'd be just as tall now. As I continue to day dream about what would be, I am once again greeted by a curious crow. I watch as the bird tilts it's head from side to side, unsure of what to make of me. It never squawks at me. Together we sit in the stillness of this moment. Silently enjoying each other's company. Each day I return to this spot and each day the crow appears. It's as if time stands still in just this place. Me in my same old, black, raggy sweatshirt, ripped jeans and converse, and the ebony black, curious crow that never makes a sound. We've spent so much time together I feel like I should give him a name at this point. If it's a he. I'm not exactly sure how to determine a bird's sex. I decide to study my friend a bit more closely. I watch as he attempts to repair the frayed rope of the tree swing with twigs. He darts back and forth from the tree to the forest gathering twigs. When he has enough he begins his work, carefully tangling the sticks within the rope. I decide to go in for a closer look. It's the first time I notice his eyes; a deep swirling brown with speckles of greens and blue near it's pupil. Just like yours. Maybe I'll name it after you. Is Charlie a weird name for a bird? "Charlie", I say out loud. The bird tilt's his head toward me for a moment and then continues threading the rope through and around the twigs. Satisfied with his work Charlie returns to the branch where the rope is tied. I lean up against the trunk of the tree. Remember that time we bleached my hair and dyed it hot pink? My mom was so pissed that she kicked me out of the house. The week I spent at your place was the best time of my life. I had never felt such peace. No more walking on eggshells, carefully selecting the words I spoke so that my mom wouldn't lash out. I no longer felt like someone was standing on my chest. I could finally take a deep breath and relax. I helped out as much as I could around your house. Cleaning the dishes, cooking, whatever I could so that I could stay longer. I felt so safe and loved. I wanted to stay that way forever. I've created my own safe space now ya know. It's nothing fancy but it's mine. A shelter from the chaos of the world. You would love it. You'd probably throw in some of your junkyard treasures. I wouldn't be opposed to the chandelier you made out of coke bottles. Did you ever finish that? I wonder what other projects you never got to finish. You always had a million and one ideas running through your head at any given time. I've never seen someone so happy to go dumpster diving. Always the adventurous one. If you could only see how far I've come out of my shell. I'd like to think you'd be impressed. It doesn't get any easier you know. I miss you every single day.

The sun set is complete. I sigh.

"Same time tomorrow?", I shout up to my friend. He squawks and then carefully glides off into the darkness of the forest. I dust the dirt off my jeans and head home.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page