top of page

Free Verse Poems

Hey all here are some free verse poems I wrote a couple of weeks ago.

 

Her light brown hair shined under the surface of the sun

I watched as the glistening, golden flakes danced upon her face putting her freckles on full display

Her chestnut brown eyes tinted with a slight golden hue

Our souls intertwined under the shade of the old oak tree

Her's like the sun, warm and forgiving

Mine, dark and cold like the shade protecting us from the heat of the summer sun

Polar opposites somehow connected

If only for a moment

 

The wind blows as I sit under that same oak tree dreaming of her face

I rest my back against the strong trunk taking in the smells of the river around me

Vile and pungent

The smell grounds me

Pulling me from the fantasy in which we are still together

 

Grass bends with every gust of wind

Just as I used to do with you

Bending over and over again to make it work

But I have freed myself and will go where the wind takes me

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page