top of page

Nature free write


Forests panic people. Too much going on there. The forest during the day is not so bad. At night however, it’s a different story. Some of the darkest nights I’ve experienced have been in the forest. The stillness of being alone with creatures you cannot see is unnerving. It incites a primal fear. The slightest crinkle of a leaf or sound of a branch breaking can send you into a panic. Staying near water at night does not help quell this fear. Despite being frightened by the forest at night I continue to return to it for it offers me a chance to view an unpolluted sky. I’ve witnessed thousands of stars upon the milky way and seen the moon shine as brightly as the sun. Once I mistook the moon’s light for daybreak and exited my tent to watch the sunrise only to be greeted by the dark and lurking forest. I traveled near the water to get a better glimpse of the night sky and saw the galaxy reflected upon the water below. A gust of wind blew the trees around me making the hairs on my arm stand up. I retreated to the safety of my tent just in time to hear two barn owls banshee scream at one another. My heart jumped out of my chest at the sound. Had I been outside of my tent I would have most definitely had a stroke.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page