top of page

365 Q&A #16: Birth

I have run across today's writing prompt a few different times. One of the writing groups I follow has covered a similar topic in conjunction with today's prompt:

Try to place yourself at the moment of a baby's birth. Focus on the emotions in the room during a calm birth, or create a scene of dramatic arrival.

 

A soft light hits my eyes. My memories of my life before are quickly fading away. I kick and grab at them, frantically trying to hold on to them. Trying to retain a piece of the life that once was. I am helpless. All I can do is scream and cry. The memories continue to fade as the light grows brighter and brighter. I scream louder. The last image passes through me. I reach out to grab it and I'm greeted by a large finger. I grab onto it not knowing what else to do. I look at the finger and follow it up to the face of a woman with warm brown eyes. Who is this woman and why does she make me feel so calm? Why am I crying? Who am I? She rubs her thumb against my cheek and softly says "welcome to the world Thomas"

 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page