top of page

Reflection: 365 Q&A


A year’s worth of writing. That is an accomplishment in itself. Even though there were days when I didn’t write consistently, I always got the work done. 365 writing prompts completed within a year (and change). I’ve learned so much about myself as a writer. One of the more important things I’ve learned is that writing takes even more discipline when you are not in a place with a set structure. Setting a schedule didn’t really work for me as my schedule was (and is) always changing thanks to the industry I work in. However, I always made a point to carve out time, whether it be 5 or 15 minutes to do the prompt. If work got crazy busy, I would make a point to catch up on the weekend. Showing up is the most important part. You can’t write if you don’t make an effort to do so. I have learned that writing can be really hard and there were days when I had absolutely nothing. Trust me, I’ve looked back at some of my entries and cringed but my writing only got stronger as I went on. Especially, if I took the time to really work with a prompt. Showing up was the most important part. I found myself enjoying prompts that fit into my niche (sci-fi/fantasy) and prompts that were personal to be more enjoyable. I struggled to write for ones that didn’t interest me but I still got words on the paper. I still have a lot more to learn but I couldn’t be more proud of what I’ve accomplished and I can’t wait to get to work on my next screenplay (the Angel of Death Origin Story that I’ve mentioned various time throughout this blog series). Some of the prompts in the books helped me get through some blocks that I had within my story and made me rethink some things.

Stay tuned for more!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page