top of page

Sail away with me


The wind feels great out here on the water. A little chilly but not too bad. The waves are steady but not too rough. Hopefully I won't get too sea sick. Learning to master the sail has proven difficult. Thankfully my friend is pulling the reigns, otherwise we would have capsized by now. The water seems refreshing though so it probably wouldn't be too bad. Except for the loss of the boat obviously. That would be unfortunate for my friend. The boat's been in his family for a long time. You can tell by the wear on the name of it. The S. S. Sally. Named after his great grandmother. It was the first big purchase his family ever made. They haven't left the water since. This life jacket could use an upgrade though. It's got some wear and tear along with some sun bleaching. I love being out on the water. Not a care in the world. Just you, the boat, the wind and the waves. It's relaxing, especially when you're not driving. Or is it steering? This is exactly why I'm not in control. As long as the waves don't get too choppy I'm in for a glorious adventure. We are planning to stop off near a private island and have ourselves a picnic. If it warms up a bit then maybe we'll go for a swim. My friend found this spot a few weeks ago. There's a bunch of forest and just enough beach to have a picnic without losing everything to the waves. He said he took a wrong turn last week and saw this place from afar. Came back the next day and decided to explore. No one else has ventured over to this island because you have to anchor out so far due to shallow water. Our picnic is safely wrapped up in waterproof bags. "You've been awfully quiet", I say. "Got to concentrate since I'm doing all the work here", he replies. We sail as close as we can to the island. "Wanna throw out the anchor?", my friend asks. I walk over to the other end of the boat, pick up the anchor and launch it into the water. "Nice one", he says. I hear a second splash behind the boat. "What was that?", I say. "Probably just a fish.", he says. "Sounded kinda big for a fish.", I say. "There's no sharks out here. Relax.", he replies. He throws one of the waterproof bags at me. "Come on. Let's get going." I feel uneasy but shrug it off. He jumps off the boat and swims a couple feet out. "See everything's fine", he says as he splashes around in the water. "Let's go!", he shouts. I unbuckle my life vest and place it behind me. When I look back out into the water he's gone. The waterproof bag is floating alone in the water. "Jack this isn't funny!", I shout as I look around the edge of the boat to see if I can find him. As I peer over the edge a webbed hand with claws latches onto my throat. I try to scream but can't. I am being pulled into the water. I grab the edge of the boat with my hands frantically trying to get my head out of the water. The webbed hand loses it's grip and I come up gasping for air. The side of my neck covered in blood. I lay back on the boat in shock. I'm losing a lot of blood. I crawl to the edge of the boat once again looking for Jack and that's when I see her. A pale creature with almost translucent skin. Her eyes black and soul-less. She slicks back her dark hair with her webbed hand. I instinctively grab my throat. A wicked smile creeps across her face. She begins her siren song:

My body moves toward the end of the boat. Try as I might I cannot control it. As I step onto the edge of the boat I know this is the end for me. "I should have listened to my gut", I think to myself as I plunge into the depths below.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page