top of page

365 Q&A #66: The Death Scene

October 31st, also known as Halloween, All Hallows Eve and Gothmas is my favorite time of the year. I love Halloween more than my own birthday and any of the other holidays combined. I love dressing up and becoming a completely different person or character from myself. It's something I do on the regular as a writer but truly get to bring to life on Halloween. My brother, Sister and I typically do group costumes so I tend to get everyone in on the fun. This year it was just my brother and me. Can you guess who we are?

Anyway, here was the writing prompt for my favorite day of the year:

As morbid as it may sound, the universality of death lends itself to great literature. To wit, in 2011, all thirteen novels nominated for the Booker Prize shared a death-related plot-line. Your task today: write a death scene.

 

Graham flew in from the north window and began his attack. Bret being protective in nature and seeing that I was being held against the wall by his former Master, stepped in front and wielded the attack. The blow from Graham's prominent wings sent him flying up against the wall. He landed with a loud thud, blood dripping from the back of his head. All I could do was watch him writhe in pain as I tried to free myself from my captor. Graham attacked Bret once again and with each blow I felt my power rise.

Bret sensing this went on the attack. His dumb way of trying to prevent my true nature from showing. His advances were quickly diminished and he was tossed liked a rag-doll across the room by Graham. The ancient guardian was swift and ferocious with his attacks. In the blink of an eye he grabbed Bret from behind and brought him high into the air only to viciously drop him to the ground like he was prey.

The crunch of his bones is something I will never forget. The sound distracting enough to allow my escape from my captor. I quickly eradicate the vile creature and rush to Bret's side. I watch as he takes his last breath. Rage pulses through my veins feeding the power within me. My once ivory wings, now a deep ebony black. I let out a feral scream. This pulls Graham's attention to me. "Ah, there she is", he exclaims with glee, not knowing the danger he is in.

 

For those that remember my previous post about Serenity (The Angel of Death), this is a scene within her story. More of her story is to come! Stayed tuned and as always....

Let me know what you think in the comments!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page