top of page

365 Q&A #63: Pick a Theme, Any Theme

A theme by definition is the subject of a talk, a piece of writing, a person's thoughts, or an exhibition; a topic. Today's writing prompt asked the following:

What is a theme that often comes up in your writing and where do you think it is born from?

 

I can't really say there is one theme that often comes up in my writing. It is more of a combination of three smaller themes to make one larger theme. Those themes are Outcasts, Dystopia and the Supernatural. I use this gathering of themes a lot in my work, especially when world building. A lot of this stems from the books, films and TV shows I grew up on.

I really love mixing these themes together. I can have a world that is a dystopia while having a character that is an outcast with supernatural abilities. I really enjoy the idea that there are people out there with special abilities or creatures out that we don't know of. It really brings out my inner explorer and sense of curiosity about the universe. I also write stories where the world is dystopian because I like to write where we may end up in the future if we don't change our ways. I also love a good story that fights the establishment and most dystopian stories have that element. I love to write characters that make choices that I normally wouldn't or that I wish I could.

 

Stay tuned for updates on the Angel of Death's origin story. For now subdue your cravings for more with the blog post linked above.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page