top of page

365 Q&A #62: I'm Awkward and I Know it

As someone who was born awkward, I have an abundance of cringe-worthy stories. Today's writing prompt asked the following:

Can you grin and bear it? Look back on an embarrassing memory and try to retell it with humor.

 

I'll tell you one of my favorite awkward moments. I love telling it at parties to lighten up the mood. So here it goes....

It was a few years ago and I was over at my friend's house for friends-giving. Wreck-It Ralph was on the TV in the background as about 12 of us were sitting and chatting. I was having a conversation with someone I had just met. At one point in our conversation we were discussing siblings and I said I was one of five. She then went on to speak about her siblings and I completely spaced out. If I'm being honest Wreck-It Ralph distracted me. Can you blame me though? I mean the Sugar Rush racer scene is pretty exciting. Anyway, when I jumped back into the conversation I saw her hand up looking like she wanted me to give her a high-five. So I gave her one....

She was telling me that she had 5 siblings. I just randomly high-fived this woman. So what does one do in this situation? Quickly scan the room to find your sister and hide in the kitchen for a bit.

 

Lord have mercy! I am reliving that moment in my head now and cringing hard. Have any cringe worthy stories? Share it in the comments if you dare!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page