top of page

365 Q&A #58: It's a book. No, it's a movie. No! It's both?!

This writing prompt from September 23rd really lit a fire under my ass. It made me realize that I need to get back to work the novel/film I've been working on for years now (building the world, characters, story-line, etc.). I need to start writing it. Like yesterday. This idea has been gnawing at me. Begging to be written for quite some time now.

Madeline L'Engle once said, "You have to write the book that wants to be written. And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children." If you were to write a young adult or children's book, how might it start?

 

I've been planning a young adult book and movie for a long time. It's about time I got back on it. It is an origin story for the Angel of Death. Set in a dystopian fantasy world ( a world destroyed by climate change due to human destruction) where humans no longer exist, a young Guardian (angel) named Scarlet comes to terms with her newfound abilities. She is the only purebred guardian (a child born of two guardians) on Earth and therefore is extremely powerful. Scarlet faces challenges and makes choices that lead her down the path toward becoming the Angel of Death.

Here are some images that inspired Scarlet's look and story:


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page