top of page

365 Q&A #47: Princess Aurora

Have you ever felt a connection to one specific fairy tale or story? Well I have. I grew up on Disney and other fairytales. As the granddaughter of a former toy shop owner and collector of all things Disney, as well as being surrounded by art either from my grandmother or great aunt, you can understand my obsession with everything whimsical. I was introduced to fairytales and the characters that lived within them from a very young age and resonated with them. August 13th's writing prompt brought me back to my youth and prodded the following question:

To which fairy tale do you feel connected? The creepiness of "Little Red Riding Hood" or the magic of "Cinderella"? What makes it special to you?

 

I'm a sucker for a good fairytale, especially one with a great romance but I've always felt a connection to Sleeping Beauty, the princess Aurora. I always found her to be the most beautiful. I loved the way her dress changed colors. I also found prince Philip to be the most handsome and his horse hilarious. I think Philip's singing voice did me over.

The magic of the fairytale makes it special. Everything from the evil fairy Maleficent who turns into a dragon to Aurora's other fairies (blue, red and green). It's all so whimsical. I also love the song Once Upon A Dream.

As an adult I still find Aurora to be one of my favorite princesses. I'm actually planning a Halloween costume that involves a mechanism where I can easily switch between the two dresses (blue and pink). Hopefully I will complete it within the next couple of years.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page