top of page

The End of an Era: Thoughts on The Originals Series Finale


I'm finding it hard to get all my feelings into words less than 24 hours after The Originals series finale. I'm sure I'll continue to update this post once I can think clearly.

Those that know me know that I love a good vampire story. The Originals were no exception. I first fell in love with the dysfunctional family, more specifically Niklaus “Klaus” Mikaelson, back in 2011 when they premiered on The Vampire Diaries in an episode titled “Klaus”. Personally, I find Klaus to be the greatest character, let alone villain, in the entire Vampire Diaries world. The spinoff, The Originals only furthered that notion. Klaus is a character with a deep and rich past. Eventually he grew to redeem himself in the series finale of The Originals (SPOILER ALERT FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NOT YET SEEN THE FINALE!) #stopreadingandgowatchit

Redemption is one of the greatest underlying themes throughout the series. It is also something Elijah has always wanted for his dearest brother. The relationship these two brothers shared was the core of the show and thus it came full circle in the finale with both brothers killing themselves and heading off into the unknown. Many a tear were shed by the characters (and myself) in these characters final moments. Each original family member got a happy ending and it can only be implied that the brother’s fate followed suit. I really enjoyed the sendoff and the poetry of the Niklaus and Elijah’s ashes rising into the moonlight of the New Orleans sky, signifying them becoming one with their city. As someone who hoped to write/work on this show one day, I could not be happier with the ending these beloved characters received. Although most fans wanted to catch a glimpse of the afterlife for Klaus and Elijah, as the writers did on TVD, I feel that it is better left to the imagination. I don’t think the brothers are in darkness. I think they are both safe and happily watching their family from beyond.

I truly will miss this show and the incredible cast that portrayed The Original family over these wonderful years. The Originals will always be the best vampire television series out there, in my opinion. It really is the end of an era. Now Klaus will only live on through re-runs, books and fanfic (stay tuned for one of my own). However, a new era is entering the foreground as The CW’s Legacies will premiere on Thursday October 25th. I know I will be tuning in to see how the young Hope Mikaelson is coping after 2 years without her mother and father. Will you be joining me?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page