top of page

365 Q&A #43: What's in a Theme?

Themes, whether on the surface or laid deep within the weeds are always a part of a story. In my case, theme tends to come well after the first (or second) draft has been completed. However, I do tend to subconsciously weave themes into my characters and their story-lines. Today's writing prompt offered up the following:

Just as splinters work their way to the surface of our skin, given time, stones work their way to the topsoil over successive frosts. What themes or ideas "surface" in your writing?

 

Looking back on some of my work I've noticed the following themes/ideas:

1) Love

2) Abandonment

3) Strong Women

4) Self Sacrifice

5) Loneliness

6) Family

7) The Supernatural

8) Good v. Evil and the gray area in between

9) Anti-heroes

10) Villain Origin Stories (My Personal Fav)

These themes are pretty consistent in my writing. However, only one work (a work still in progress) combines all 10 themes/ideas in one. Once I complete a draft of this project I will upload it here. So stay tuned!

 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page