top of page

365 Q&A #38: Remix!!!

This writing prompt was super fun! I actually think I might use it as a way to break writer's block or even as a tool to conjure up new ideas or scenes in a story. I highly recommend trying this prompt for yourself. So here it is:

In the 1950s and '60s William S. Burroughs popularized the "cut-up" technique, later employed by lyricists like David Bowie. In a 2008 interview, Bowie explained: "you write down a paragraph or two describing different subjects, creating a kind of 'story ingredients' list, I suppose, and then cut the sentences into four-or-five-word sections, mix 'em up, and reconnect them." Use two previous entries as your material for a cut-up.

 

From the beginning you told me this was going to happen but I thought we were in control. The day I feared had come. No more running; there is no escaping it now. I should have listened to you. I was too consumed with how much time we get to actually enjoy. Now I only wish we had more. We keep living this cycle. I remember now. I had lived another life with you and then in an instant I was a stranger; I had lost you completely. Hell, I had lost myself. I watch on as the night takes over you, soaking in your beauty as the moonlight caresses your face. I feel a sharp sting in my back. He has come for us once more. I grab your hand as I feel my memories slipping. This vessel is dying. Tomorrow I will wake a new and begin my search for you again. Love is the thing that motivates and keeps me going but I'm not sure I can repeat this cycle once more. Why are we being kept apart? Are we too destructive? Are we being punished?

 

The two entries that I used can be found here:


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page