top of page

365 Q&A #28: What's That Book?

UPDATE!!!!! I have found the book! I have found the book! First off, thank you google for figuring out the book with the minimal information I had. Turns out it was also turned into a movie (of the same name) in 2009 starring Russell Crowe, Sophie Traub and Laura Dern. Based on the trailer I'm not sure I want to watch it though. However, the book is amazing.

The book is called Tenderness and was written by Robert Cormier in 1997. Do yourself a favor and give it a read.

 

It's been quite sometime since I blogged about my daily writing prompt. I've still been writing everyday but I haven't put in the time to blog about it. I'm back on track though and working on blogging a bit more. An earlier writing prompt prompted a fanfic for The Originals and I had an idea for a character that I've been working on for many years, so stay tuned! Exciting things are coming your way.

This writing prompt was from May 19th and it went like this:

What was a favorite book from your childhood? What did you enjoy about it and what stayed with you?

 

I can't remember the name of the book (I'm on a mission to find it now) but it had to do with a young girl who becomes obsessed with a troubled young man in town who has been accused/suspected of killing a family member (or his family, can't remember exactly which it was). She falls in love with him and learns that he is not so bad after all. He falls for her but then she dies. They go out on a row boat together and she falls, hits her head and drowns. She may have also hit her head on a oar, fell and then drowned (I read the book back in middle school and the details are a little fuzzy). He is then forced to coverup her death or be accused of killing her. She came from a well-off family so he had no chance of looking innocent.

This book has stayed with me because it was the first book I read in middle school that really portrayed the grey areas in life and that no person is truly black or white; we all live in the grey. The book also showed me that not everything is what it seems and not everyone you meet is who they appear to be.

 

If you have any idea as to what the title of this book may be please reach out to me! I am dying to add this book to my collection and re-read it.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page