top of page

365 Q&A #7: Shakespeare


Like Edgar Allan Poe, Shakespeare has had a heavy influence on my writing. I was first introduced to his work when I found an old copy of Romeo and Juliet in the closet of the house we moved into when I was in 5th grade.

Shakespeare is credited with inventing words such as advertising, moonbeam, undress, assassination, blanket, amazement, lackluster, madcap, critic and puking. Select a few of these words to write into a passage here.

 

As a critic of my own body it took a lot for me to get to where I am now; the semi-confident woman who stands before him. As I slowly begin to undress I see him watching in amazement. He stares at each and every curve, examining them. At this point I want to crawl and hide under a blanket, but there is something comforting in his gaze. He slowly moves closer. Sensing my unease he wraps his arms around me and softly whispers, "you're beautiful". We stand there like that for quite some time feeling each other breathe. The rhythm timing to our heart beats.

 

Who is your biggest influence on your writing? One of the classics like Shakespeare or Poe? Or is it someone more modern like Vonnegut or Bradbury?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page