top of page

365 Q&A #5: Dreary Weather

As the bitter cold month of January comes to a close, today's question involves describing weather. What better way to get my feelings out about this icy weather than to write them down on paper. Today's prompt goes like this:

Elmore Leonard famously advised not to start a novel with a description of weather. Break that rule and write about today's weather.

 

It was another frigid and unbearably cold day. The wind whipping across my face felt like a thousand needles painfully cutting me open. The sun was carefully tucked behind clouds as the ground below began to crystallize with ice. As I walked to escape the brisk weather, the ground beneath my feet cracked and buckled. There was nothing living or breathing to see for miles. The only sign of life, my breath showing in the air.

 

I find that my work tends to have a ton of vivid description. It is one of the most exciting parts of writing for me. I love describing the world in and around a character. I feel like that is why I enjoy writing fantasy and science fiction so much. The world in fantasy/sci-fi stories needs to be well built and tends to be a large part of the story.

What part of writing excites you? Where do you find you thrive when writing?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page